Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone

I am a veterinary student, and I am working closely with many vets to get the Hot Branding of Horses banned in Scotland. This is supported by the BVA and BEVA.

We have now got a petition in parliament, and need as many signatures as possible before 26th Feb. There is information about branding on the petition.

If you could sign it to show your support it would much appreciated.

Here is the link:
The Scottish Parliament e-Petitions: View/Sign Petition

And for those who have never seen branding, here is a link to a video of branding:

Thank you so much for your help,
Claire

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well basically, hot branding is done in exmoor ponies for tradition as the brands can't actually be seen for most of the year and can be tampered with. Since microchipping has come into play (and now is a requirement by law for all foals to be microchipped) there is no longer a need for hot branding. Freeze branding is actually more painful that hot branding (hot branding damages the superficial layers of the skin, whereas freezebranding actually damaged the deeper tissue, hence why the hair comes in white)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
p.s. branding is already banned in Scotland, but there is exceptions for "free living" herds... but there are no free living herds of exmoors, so we want to get an outright ban on hot branding

sorry i am posting this quickly as I need to go examine a cow!! have a read of the information on the parliament website :)

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
I suppose I never really thought about it. People normally don't brand over here, or get their horse micro-chipped. The only time I see a horse branded is if they were from across seas.

I guess it really doesn't bother me.. D; It probably should.

·
Registered
5,455 Posts