The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is very difficult for me to discuss. Both because the subject matter is unpleasant for me to think about, and because I'm still not sure what I want. I originally bought Thunder to drive, and for my fiancée to ride on occasion. He was never a horse I would have chosen for myself, even though I had always thought it would be fun to have a draft - but drafts are BIG, and hairy, and they really do better on 'special' feed, and they require special care, etc etc (all of which I knew when I bought him). When I brought Thunder home I instantly fell in love with him, with his dopey goofiness and his gigantic hairy feets and the way his tongue hangs out like a dog's when he's feeling playful.

Then he grew up, and I started training him, and I fell in love even more. He is so level headed (I'm sure that's at least partially a draft thing but his sire was very chill even for a Shire) and tries so hard to please. He's a horse you can do literally anything with. ANYTHING. Want to hitch him to an inner tube and go snow tubing? Sure. Want to go swimming and do backflips off his butt? Sure. Want to load him in the back of your pickup? Sure. Anything goes. He was such a good horse during training that I was able to muddle through breaking him to drive all by myself, just by watching videos and reading articles, something I surely never would have attempted on a hotter animal. He was - IS - the perfect 'anything' horse. Ride, drive, the whole shebang.

But.