The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Elle, 1997 Oldenburg mare
2,091 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know a LOT has changed for me since I started riding again, just over five years ago, after my 15 year hiatus.

Some positives:
About three years in, I actually developed CORE STRENGTH for the first time in my entire life, and finally found out what the fuss was all about!
Way better posture
More symmetry in my strength and movements
Much greater flexibility in areas where I have always been stiff
Better balance
Better awareness and reaction time doing other tasks, like driving

Some negatives:
My left knee is now crunchy. Not painful, but definitely crunches when I come up from a squat. This started last summer after I tweaked my knee real good while, apparently, trying to fix my leg position ALL AT ONCE during a ride. Oops. Took a couple weeks off riding after that, and wore a knee brace for a bit, and it recovered well but... crunch.
Occasional back pain and spasms if I really overdo the riding and then follow it up with long periods of sitting, like driving or flying on long trips (not that that's a thing these days, yikes).
Pretty constant muscle pains as my body recovers from whatever new torture I've devised for it in recent rides. Though it's that GOOD post-workout kind of pain. But still pain.

And on the NEUTRAL front, man... Has anyone else really BEEFED OUT from riding?? I've gained about 20 pounds in the last few years but very little of that is pure squish. I've gotten thick in my legs and butt, but man, if I flex, you could bounce quarters off of there. Do wish some of my favourite clothes still fit though!! :lol: How do all those stick-thin pro riders not look totally jacked??

How about you?

·
Registered
4,559 Posts