The Horse Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Long story short, I'll be 19 in May. I started riding at 9-10 but had to stop due to family financials. I picked it back up and began riding consistently at 14. Since then, I really haven't shown much. I've done a few local shows here and there but have been unable to go any higher both due to financial concerns and lack of access to a quality trainer (my barn does not have a trainer)- I also didn't (don't) have a horse trailer, so that doesn't make things any easier.
Before I continue, I'd like to say that I'm extremely grateful for every opportunity I've been given- while I haven't been able to show high level, I was still given more opportunities than most.
My boyfriend and I have recently moved onto 30 acres and we plan on building paddocks and an arena and bringing my horses home (they're boarded, currently at $850/month/horse- ouch!). I have three, so bringing them home lifts a significant financial burden off my shoulders!
That being said, it would free up enough money to allow me to purchase a horse trailer, truck, and to allocate funds for a quality trainer and showing.
It's been my dream to ride, train, show, sell and breed horses. Most of the people I know in this sport have started from the age of 5, and have been showing since they were children. I was wondering if anyone had any experience breaking into this sport professionally at an older age? To give context, I do hunters, but would love to venture into just about any and every equine sport- from dressage to trick riding, haha. I don't plan on throwing all my eggs in one basket, so to speak, so I won't count on this as a career if it is possible.
That being said, is it possible?
Any insight or support is greatly appreciated!

*Edit to add, I don't plan on being a professional anytime soon, just eventually.

·
Super Moderator
14,708 Posts
Welcome to the Forum...