The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I have an 18yo saddle pony mare who is in good condition and i want to have a foal from her. is 18 to old? thanks for an advice ;)

·
Registered
2,269 Posts
That really depends on weather or not she has been bred before. Maiden mares are a little harder to get pregnant and tend to have a harder time keeping a pregnancy. At 18 your mare would be the older side of a brood mares career. Older mares have a harder time keeping weight on (as a general rule) and add to that a pregnancy and the demands of a foal. I guess it would depend on why you want a foal? Do you want one just because you love this mare so much? Or do you want one because she has amazing lines that you want to propagate?

·
Registered
5,670 Posts
I'm no breeding professional but 18 is going to VERY risky for both mare and goal.

Other things to consider...

Horses are selling for a couple hundred dollars. Way cheaper then breeding a foal. Vets and trainers don't work off good graces. Do you have the time, energy and skill to devote to this baby? What about the money for extra food for your mare? What has your mare done with her career? What's her conformation like? Show record? Health?
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
3,583 Posts
Have an equine repro specialized vet check her out, they can help determine her fertility and overall health as to the potential of carrying a foal to full term. Many 18 year old maiden mares can still be bred and carry to full term without problems, but the care put into them is more than a younger mare would need. Careful diet and exercise plan to keep proper weight and good physical condition are essential.