The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How it the best way to gain more experience handling horses? I took lessons which taught me the very basics of handling and I was also taught the basics by a person I lease from for caring and grooming (owner is more self taught then anything). I would really love to learn more in-depth from handling horses to grooming to any other aspect of horse care. Anyone have suggestions? :)

·
Registered
427 Posts
I learned by working at a dude ranch...no pay at first, but all the experience I could handle. If you have a training barn close by that has a reputable trainer who works horses how you want to..ie. Jumping, cutting, show..and see if they will let you apprentice.

·
Registered
990 Posts
Just working around them is the best thing get to know them, and being with them.
I've been around horses for almost ten years I've never had lesson or any thing but I've got experienced horse people around me to help.
YouTube things helps me as well and watching others most of all is learn from your mistakes.
Hope I helped. Good Luck

·
Super Moderator
15,235 Posts
How it the best way to gain more experience handling horses? :)

You learn by doing, experiencing and sometimes making errors so the next time a situation arises you know what you are capable of doing and your reaction to that situation is adequate and safe.

You learn by watching, asking questions and having someone watch over you to keep you safe while you are learning.

The day anyone tells or implies "they know it all" is the day to move forward and away from that person as horses are a never ending learning experience for everyone. No one should imply they need not learn anymore or another way...life in general is always a learning experience daily...horses are no different.