The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
449 Posts
I don't remember! Are you having trouble finding the rhythm?

·
Registered
8 Posts
One lesson, but it wasn't pretty! There's a little thing I used to keep the diagonals straight--up with the outside--repeated about a million times. So when the horse's shoulder on the outside of the ring is up, you should be up. It helps if you ride a horse that has a bad, rough trot! You'll want to get the hang of it before you shake your teeth loose.

·
Registered
1,903 Posts
That was a looooong time ago - but I got the concept down in one lesson, could post pretty well in probably 4 lessons. Was good to go with diagonals and such in 2 months (8 lessons)? Something along those lines...

·
Registered
123 Posts
I was 6 when I started riding so I don't remember. But it depends. The beginners at my barn who are little (like 6 or 7) take longer to learn just because they are smaller so they have less muscle and muscle memory ability hasn't developed yet (that sounds weird but it's the only way I could think to word it). But older beginners (like 13ish) tend to pick it up quicker because they have more muslce and by that point their muscle memory is more responsive.
I'm not sure if that makes any sense....sorry

·
Registered
2,681 Posts
Lol, it took me about 3 lessons, then I knew how to, but wasnt very good. So over all, probably about 6 - 7 lessons :)

·
Registered
3,918 Posts
A couple lessons.

My older child's been working on it for a couple months now and she's doing quite well. My lil one... uh, well she looks like a pastel jumping bean that's hopping away on top of the horse. She's 6 and I think the entire concept of "posting" went way over her head, she's just a bouncin up and down with no rhythm or reason.

·
Registered
780 Posts