The Horse Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There’s a small “barn” near my place with 4 horses all above 27yo. They are used for kids, for “pony days” etc. I have never been so I’m not sure about the exact set up but Sounds rather small and amateurish. I saw a flyer the other day that they need money as the care for older horses has become more expensive. They are asking for donations. Now. I ride at a barn where all I can do is tack up, ride and brush. I use lesson horses. I have asked to do some chores and was turned down. So I wonder if I should get in touch with this smaller barn and see if there’s anything I can help with? What options do I have? I need supervision to handle barn work as I am not experienced but I would have loved to volunteer. Or maybe I can lease one horse? My 7yo also rides, maybe this could be a good option? I’m a bit lost and am waiting to get in touch with them until I have a clearer idea of what to say. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
344 Posts
Sounds like a good opportunity to at least make contact and see if they want some help. It does not take long to pick up on barn chores. I would just email and say you ride and would love to spend more time helping out around horses (I would specify not riding), and are there any chores that you could volunteer to come and help with like mucking out, cleaning/refreshing water, feeding out, grooming (like bathing and extra stuff in addition to the little brush they get before/after riding), or even leading kids on pony rides.

If they are not interested in that, then you could ask about part-leasing a horse onsite for you and your 7 year old to go and learn some more about care, and your 7 year old could ride.

·
Registered
1,816 Posts