The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have the worst time finding a reliable farrier, they will tell me they'll be at my house at 10am and come at 5pm, if they come at all. If I'm lucky enough for them to show up then they do a horrible trim job. My one horse I don't ride, so it doesn't have to be perfect, but she's still old and needs a good trim. And my young horse I do ride so he needs more than just a "pasture trim". I have the worst time finding a farrier here, and I have cycled though many. I just can't find a farrier that makes me say "Wow!" after a trim.

I've been researching barefoot hoof care and trimming for around two years now. I could be saving precious money that could go towards something other than putting my horses in pain. Does anyone do their own horses?.

http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/farrier-29868/
Take a look at that thread I posted awhile back, this was right after my farrier left. This is on my horse that I ride. And the farrier who did this was highly recommended. Everyone told me to call the guy back, I did, and he never tried to call me back.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
I trim my own and have been doing so for the last two years or so. I did get a farrier to come out and evaluate my work a couple times. Wanted to make sure I wasn't screwing anything up.

If that's the kind of trims your getting I would start doing your own too.

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That sounds like a good idea.

I went out today and just rasped a little, just to get the feel of it and to get my horses use to it. I'm going to try to just do a maintenance trim every 1-2 weeks. I think it will benefit both of them.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts