The Horse Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone!

I'm new here and already have some questions for y'all about my mare Shiloh. A little backstory on us: I have not had any horses of my own for the past 5 years since my two older horses I had growing up passed in 2015/2016. I took a break from riding all together when I went to college in 2017 and didn't plan on getting another horse until I graduated. A few months ago in February, a friend was wanting to part ways with a couple of his mares....it was too perfect of an offer to pass up. So I now have two lovely horses of my own again and it has been an exciting past few months getting to know these girls!

Unfortunately the flies have not been kind to them this summer here in NC. We have been dealing with a nasty case of sweet itch that the other mare, Maggie, has been recovering from this past week. Our vet prescribed several oral and topical meds that seem to be working well together!

(TLDR) Here's the issue, Shiloh has developed an oozing swollen area in front of her udders which has doubled in size since yesterday. Initially it looked like it was the beginning of sweet itch just like the spot where it started on Maggie. But it has gotten much worse very quickly and that concerns me. To add to it, her rear legs looked inflamed to me today. The fluid from the swollen area is dripping onto her legs and it looks like she has a rash from flies on that area as well now. I messaged several of my equine friends with no luck on what this could be. I cleaned the area after I took these photos with a cool rag and fresh water. She was clearly uncomfortable with me doing that, she kept moving around/stomping and licking and crewing when I did too much. She is golden when it comes to standing still for me to do anything, this is unlike her.

Photo From Yesterday:

Shiloh swelling yesterday.jpeg

Photo From Today: