The Horse Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! Just a bit of background before I jump into the forums :)

I rode seasonally once a week at a dressage/Friesian breeding barn as a kid in exchange for year round work grooming and mucking stalls since we were low income and couldn't afford lessons by any means. I worked my way up to assistant horse trainer at that farm, and when I graduated from high school, I came across a small windfall of money and decided to purchase a horse. All was fine and dandy until that horse injured himself in the field one day and I wasn't financially equipped to keep up with the rehabilitation. I gave him to a rescue (where he found a home before he was even listed) but I felt immensely guilty, and it was enough to keep me out of the saddle for 7 years.

Fastforward to this last October; I'm 26 and after being waitlisted for 3 months, I was accepted as a student to a well known hunter/jumper barn about a half hour away from town and I began once weekly lessons. I realize very, very quickly that I'm starting from the basics again.