The Horse Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a new adult rider (53 yo F). I am a beginner riding English, only walk and trot so far. I currently ride at a barn literally across the street from my house. I am considering looking into lessons at another nearby barn for a couple of reasons. I would like to ride twice a week, which my current trainer agreed to but very often one of my lessons during the week will be canceled for various reasons (trainer has personal appointments/commitments, horses riled up/haven't been ridden or not healthy, thunderstorms (concerned horse will spook), I have an appt, etc.. I'm wondering if the other barn and I can find a different day time of the week that can be more consistently maintained. Is it considered a no-no to be working with two different trainers? Will that just leave me confused? Does that irritate trainers if their student is working with someone else?

·
Registered
8,729 Posts
...does it matter really? Personally I think it's great to have diverse learning experiences from different people. If a trainer thinks a learner needs programming a certain way and gets funny about it, time to get a more open-minded trainer. There's so many different approaches you can learn from, and you've got to figure out what works best for you - and have no obligation to continue at any one particular place if someone doesn't sit right with you in how they teach or treat animals. The more people you get to learn with, the more likely you are to get good advice and useful skills. So in your position - go look at what the other barn has to offer as well - and it's your business, no need to tell your first trainer. Ride as many different horses as you can. And while you're at it, maybe see if there's other horse activities you can dip your toes in elsewhere - like nice scenic trail rides when you're ready. Have fun.

·
Super Moderator
17,465 Posts