Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

Apologies in advance, I know how irritating threads like this are but i'd rather ask experienced folk before getting a vet out if it's not necessary!
In August, I bought Missy and soon after, found out she had being covered in April (2013) :oops:
So we suspected she was in foal since then (haven't had a vet as saving money in case of emergency call out should she foal). Everything has been smooth sailing so far but today I took off her rug and found this lump under her tum! Before I call the vet, I thought i'd ask you breeding folk if it's normal or anything to be concerned about?

Please excuse my inexperience, I am a total novice to all of this (Meaning foals) :oops:

Photo's:

And udder:

Does anybody have any ideas?

·
Registered
6,800 Posts
Many pregnant mares will have edema/swelling due to fluid retention. Gravity forces it to lay at the lowest part of the belly.

its hard to say if that's what's going on or if its something else.

the swelling comes and goes in many pregnant mares.

if she was covered in April, then your looking at a March foaling date. my mare started to bag up in early february. 6 Weeks before foaling.

good luCk. The foal should be very active now if she is bred. Unfortunately the only way to know for sure is to see feet.comig out...

she does need to have pre-foaling shots though. 30 Days prior to foaling so the foal will have sufficient antibodies to be healthy as possible.
Posted via Mobile Device

Reactions: PonioUK

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Many pregnant mares will have edema/swelling due to fluid retention. Gravity forces it to lay at the lowest part of the belly.

its hard to say if that's what's going on or if its something else.

the swelling comes and goes in many pregnant mares.