The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Super Moderator
26,368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So... I've done the trail classes in the ring but I've never done a competitive trail ride. I just found a series that looks really cool and I think I want to give it a shot. I was browsing the pictures not he site and while the obstacles look a little scary, they don't look dreadful.

Since I've never done one before I was wondering how they work. I remember when I did the combined training events I would get a start time and be sent out of the shoot alone. Of course those were timed and the obstacles were jumps.... So I'm wondering, are these timed? I know the obstacles are timed but I wasn't sure about the entire course? It's a judged pleasure ride so I feel like you have as long as you need to get through the trail but only specific times for the obstacles?

I don't know if I can find anyone to go with me so when I get there, can I ask them to pair me with a group? And can I be a wuss and ask them to pair me with a "tried and true" group?

Just looking for how it works. My baby is a coming 4 year old and has only been on a couple trail rides. He's been in the ring and done trail courses, he crosses the teeter totter bridge and climbs the tractor tires, he has pulled a log and crossed a tarp. I'm not sure about a gate, I have a rope gate like in the ring courses but I haven't tried a real gate. I haven't thrown a rope from him either...

Just looking for... information? Thoughts?

Reactions: AnitaAnne

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
I don't know what region you are in. And it has been 15 years since I did any NATRC CTR.
But I found the folks at the rides to be very helpful.

Most of the time they would assign a mentor to help you thru your first ride. But even if they don't assign a mentor. I'm sure you will have no problem buddying up with somebody in your same class to ride with.