The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
829 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i was hoping i could get some constructive criticism on my riding.. i have been riding for about five years. I rode english for about a year and turned western. i want to come back into the english world.. i have had one jumping lesson and that was about four years ago.. my friend and i was practicing jumping.. yes, i realize i absolutely have horrible two-point and form and a ton of other issues.. please critique and point out all the errors or problems you se.. My horse also is not a jumper but about two years ago we figured out that he can actually jump high(he jumped a lil pony with a rider on the pony's back. that was not on purpose but it is a long story so i wont go into details) anyways i know my horse can jump.. i just have never jumped him before..

please tell me anything i need to fix..which im sure is alot..lol.

thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
223 Posts
sooo, honestly your position is terrible, the first thing I noticed is that your heels arent down and your leg is too far back.. it should be lined up with your girth. Alot of the pictures your either "behind" in the jump or your pirched too far up, meaning you really dont have a good grasp on the whole two point concept, your all over the place. As well you look to be very hunched over. out of a scale of one to ten Id give you a three. Any horse can jump, but there are those who you'll find are natural jumpers, they will tuck their legs up very neatly when going over, fairly collected, instead of flailing all over the place like your horse is doing.

·
Registered
5,722 Posts
i would suggest taking a step back & practicing a lot of 2pt on the flat or over ground poles. also practicing your 2pt along with a release on the flat, so hold your 2pt & practice moving your hands up his neck, & holding for a moment, & then back to their regular position.

·
Registered
81 Posts