The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently brought at qh and i really want to teach her to jump but im not having much luck because she wont pick her back feet up when she goes over the jump.I dont want to show her or anything i just want to beable to take her out on a trail ride and if i see a log jump over it.
I was just wondring if Qhorses can jump or if you have to teach them diffrently because of the movement :)
Hope someone can help :)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hey there, im just getting started on this site but read your post and thought i might be able to help. Try lunging your horse over some jumps while increasing the height. I had the same problem with my QH mare. She takes jumps great now. Also what are you jumping it over now? Some people use plastic like polls, i have a friend you is a jumper maniac and when she helped me with my mare we used heavier round wooden polls so if she clipped them with her feet they dont fall right away and she knows they are there. This does not hurt her at all just sort of lets her know how high they are. hope this was a little helpful.

·
Registered
223 Posts
My qh jumps just fine (in fact better than a lot, she's going solid at3'3" and wants them higher) so its not a matter of the breed, they're just as capable.

You should start your horse off over ground poles so she can get comfortable going over poles to start with and can get her legs all going in the right direction. Give her a couple days of being able to do that before you even move her off the ground, it is so easy to destroy a horses confidence by raising the jumps too quickly.