Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
I love horses and horse riding is very important part of my life. I've been leasing and riding horses for over 4 years now in US. I'm moving back to my home country for few years due to work and there are no horses in 100 mile radius of where I'll be living. I've been thinking of the practicality of keeping a horse in tropical climates. In summer temps can get to 120F with lot of humidity and the least it ever gets is 60F on a December night. In monsoon season, it can rain for days and get really muddy 3-4 months of the year as the soil is soft here with no rocks. My house is on 2.5 acres of land and I've another 20 acres few miles away where we farm and I can grow hay.

I know what it takes to care for the animals as I grew up on a farm and we still have our family cows and never bought a gallon of milk there.
I'm very well aware that animal care is 24/7 and not 8-5 job and willing to do what it takes.

I know this is all sounds a bit odd, but as I've previously said, for me, it's heart that wins over mind when it comes to horses.

Is it practical to keep horses here? What are the problems I can expect with prolonged humid conditions for hoofs, coat or anything in general?

Thank you for your time and I'm sorry about the long post.

·
Registered
10,926 Posts
1. I'm assuming the family dairy cows are in the country you are moving back to?

If so, who does the veterinary care on your cattle? Is that person capable of caring for a horse under any emergency circumstances?

I.E. stitching the horse up, tubing the horse for serious colic, knowing what to vaccinate the horse against in those tropical conditions, etc etc.

2. Are you able to do the hoof trimming? If not, who is going to keep the horse's hooves trimmed which, also aides in keeping them healthy in your humid conditions.