The Horse Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to having horses and I was seeing if anybody else had this similar thing happened to their horse. My horse gave birth about 3 weeks ago and baby is doing great but she has two large lumps on the sides of the back part of her belly. Seeing if anybody can give me a little more info. I said the local vet pictures and he was very unsure. I have my horses in Mexico so Vets and Knowledge are limited.
Carnivore Dog breed Liver Dog Fawn
Working animal Fawn Terrestrial animal Plant Liver

·
Super Moderator
27,073 Posts
I'm thinking it might be mastitis. I would check for a temperature and give the vet a call.

·
Registered
340 Posts
It looks like Edema. Where fluid collects at the lowest point. Does she get any type of exercise? I understand she recently had a foal, but even hand walk would help if that is what it is.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It looks like Edema. Where fluid collects at the lowest point. Does she get any type of exercise? I understand she recently had a foal, but even hand walk would help if that is what it is.
That is definitely one thing I was thinking. It does feel like fluid in and it doesn't bother her when I push on it. The vet originally said that it would go away sooner but I was thinking possibly lack of exercise I was slowing down the process. The good thing is it definitely doesn't bother her at all. I will try walking her everyday and see if that helps and what changes within a week. The only reason I hadn't walked her was because I was thinking she was still a bit fragile even though she's a choker/fatty. Thanks for the reply 🙏

·
Registered
9,707 Posts
I agree with the edema but I don't like that much of it at all. I think you should try to find a knowledgeable equine vet and get them involved. Was her placenta checked after the foaling to make sure she passed it all?

·
Registered
244 Posts