The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi i’m new to the horse forums and i’m not sure what topic this would go under but i’m hoping some people can help me out with the questions i have

i’ve been riding for almost 4 years, just did my first show a few weeks ago (hunter and equitation) i’ve recently gotten more serious about riding, i do 2 lessons a week. i normally don’t tack the horse i’m riding in my lesson, the helpers at the barn do it for me before i get there. i was wondering when a good time would be to start leasing a horse? i’m not very involved at my barn, i only come and ride. my trainer asked me this summer if i was interested in leasing but i’m too busy this summer. i was interested in leasing during the school year instead of doing school sports. (opinions?) should i be tacking the horse for my lesson regularly before i consider leasing? (i know how to tack) also when would it be a good time to get my own saddle? before i start leasing or after? thanks

·
Registered
4,539 Posts
If you think you're going to be leasing, then wait until AFTER you get the horse to buy your saddle. The saddle needs to fit the horse you'll be riding.

·
Registered
389 Posts
There are a few variables in which we'd have to look at.

-What's your budget? How long will you lease if money is a factor/non-factor
-WHY do you want to lease? To advance or to practice and care for a horse of your 'own'?
-Will you have the time and focus with school going on?