The Horse Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had this issue for a while, and neither me nor my instructor have any idea how to fix it.While I'm posting the trot, my legs tend to fall back out beneath me, and my feet sometimes end up near the horses flanks, and I am left sitting right on my crotch or on the ground. Hard to explain, I know.
My entire body leans forward, and as you know, I lose my balance.
I'm a Canadian Rider Level 1, and this is the only thing keeping me back from level 2. I've been riding for two years, and picking up concepts well, this just seems to be holding me back. I'm also having issues with cantering because it happens while cantering as well.
I don't have a horse, and I only can ride once a week for an hour and fifteen minutes, so extra practice is off the table
It probably should be mentioned that I do have a medical diagnosis of hypotonia (very low muscle tone), which isn't the same as no muscles :) . It's just the fact that I am extremely clumsy, shaky, and have poor posture and balance, as in, I couldn't dress myself until age 9, and I fall on my face daily :p.
I'm thinking that maybe the hypotonia is a problem in this situation, but I'm not sure.

Any help, suggestions, or comments appreciated :D

·
Registered
48,836 Posts
well, good on you for just riding!

a lot of things can influence this sort of seat. if the hrose is very downhill, or the saddle is too wide in front and thus takes a downhill cant, of you are really pinching with your knees.

can you practice balanceing on a large physio ball? this could help build your core and your balance, so that you will ride more from balance than from strength in the leg.