The Horse Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! So I’m an intermediate beginner, and I’m currently half leasing but it’s fairly cheap for a half lease. I can hardly lesson with my half lease because the lesson times hardly ever work for me. Since I’m newer to riding, I can confidently walk and trot and I’m working on the canter. I ride English, and I would ideally want to lesson 2-3 times a week at this new barn because I really want to keep learning! But that would be really expensive and I’m unsure how I could find a more efficient way to manage this. I think about leasing at this new place, but I feel like I should just keep taking lessons instead of ride on my own in a lease. So any suggestions to how I could ride a lot for cheaper?

·
Registered
Quest is a 17.2hh chestnut OTTB gelding
46 Posts
Hello!
Can you afford to have lessons 2x a week on school horses?
If not, do you have someone who's willing to help you when you ride on your own?

You can do a lesson once a week and ride on your own the other days. It helps to have someone throw an eye on you and correct anything glaringly obvious.

But personally I wouldn't ride alone without someone to help me if I wasn't yet confident in the canter!

Have you looked into video lessons, they might also be cheaper.

·
Registered
3,924 Posts
I worked most of my lessons off. If I helped out with chores and other various activities around the barn, I didn't have to pay money for my lessons.

Reactions: NewlyHorseAddicted

·
Registered
85 Posts
I worked most of my lessons off. If I helped out with chores and other various activities around the barn, I didn't have to pay money for my lessons.