The Horse Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do do do do.
Hey everyone ;)

today i am home, of course some already know from an ear infection.
Anyway's i got to goto the dollar store and i picked up some Oil Pastel's ( i havent daddled with these in AGES )
And some Water Color Tubes.

Any tips for me ;) I would really appreciate it, im not sure exactly what i am going to be doing yet.... but i will be doing something ! i cant wait to get started haha :D

Also this is going to be sounding like a N00B Question, but... how in the EARTH do you blend pastels ? im thinking maybe using a Q-tip?

·
Registered
658 Posts
well, I have no personal experience with watercolors, but I did buy a watercolor set a while ago and have yet to actually paint with them. But I was advised by many people that when using watercolors to always start light and go darker from there. You can always go darker as needed, but one you lay down a layer of paint, you can never go lighter (if that makes any sense). I will have to be very careful of that when I try them out.

As far as oil pastels go, I have a very old and probably very cheap set that I have only used a couple times. I personally don't like them very much because of their bulky nature and my inability to do fine detail work, but I have found them to be a great source of anger management...lol. I was extrememly depressed one night over the loss of my horse and just scribbled away, really pressing hard into the paper. I found it much better to just let loose and draw hard that to spend a ton of time adding light layers. I just added one thick layer over another and although less "real" looking, the drawing had some really cool vibrant color layering going on.