Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

So I have a sort of long and hopefully a non-complicated question. First, it should be known that my horse is an 8 year old Quarter horse/Paint. I've been riding for about 2 years...(maybe a little shy of 2 years). I'm having trouble with my lope transitions with my horse. His previous owner didn't think too much of transitions, so she always took him from trot to lope. I'm okay with that, however, I take riding lessons on my horse and my instructor pushes us to transition from the walk into the lope. I have little experience in the lope, and my horse is far from comfortable with walk to lope transitions.
My problem is, I want to take him from the trot to the lope for awhile until we both get more comfortable with loping, as he doesn't have lots of experience with it either, but whenever I get a lesson, my instructor pushes the walk to lope and my horse gets terribly confused.
My question is, does it really matter which gait I start from until we both get used to loping? Or should I really just start from the walk all of the time? I want to make this easier for my horse and myself and do what is actually correct.
Also, what is the proper way to signal my horse to pick up the lope from either the walk or the trot? I want to make sure I am doing it correctly to clear up any confusion.

I really hope that wasn't confusing and that y'all can help me out. I've been so confused on what is the "right way" lately.
Thank you!
:runninghorse2:

·
Super Moderator
9,743 Posts
I've not met a horse that couldn't learn to transition to a lope from both the walk and trot.

I teach the ones I ride to respond to the same cue regardless of at what gait we start. Even a stand still.

Consistent cuing and practice will bring success.

·
Registered
17,077 Posts
How fit is your horse? To lope from a walk takes a lot of hind end power which may be lacking