The Horse Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Banned
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
[SKIP]Since it's been so hot (110 F (43 C) + heat index), I am going to cut back on working my horse. But, I still want to spend some time with her. I have thought about working on her mane and tail. I used to just let whatever happen, happen. While I picked out the stick and bugs, I never brushed it or cut/pulled it and only washed it when it was soiled (you know how mares' tails get when they are in heat). Her mane and tail seem to be fine, other than being short. So, if you haven't figured it out, I am a mane and tail noob.

Obviously, mane and tail has to do with genetics. My horse isn't a Friesian or a Gypsy so that knee-length mane and tail-dragging-train-of-a-tail probably isn't going to happen. Her mane goes about halfway down her neck (horizontally) and her tail is about hock level. Yeah. Not great. Not bad.[/SKIP]

Nutrition:
I know that to have a good mane and tail, nutrition is a good place to start (working inside-out). What are some things to help mane and tail growth? She is an easy keeper on a ration balancer right now with 24/7/365 access to grass (although not great quality) and hay (not great quality, but not bad either). She is getting about 2,000+ mg vitamin E and 16+ mg biotin daily. What else is specific to mane and tail?

Topical:
I have heard people washing, conditioning, and braiding it every week. Sounds like that could get expensive... and high maintenance. Is that what it take to have a good mane and tail? I kind of care but also not really. I only trail ride so I don't need an immaculate mane and tail like the ones seen at shows. I don't mind the time, but I don't really want to spend megabucks a month on topicals.

I have heard that some people use MTG and really liked it and the results. Others have said that it is toxic and can cause bad sunburn and bad skin reactions. Depends on the horse?