The Horse Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, as the title says , I am looking to lease out Hunter to help pay board every month. The girl that is interested I knew in high school and I trust her with my horse and as a business person. But I need help with the lease agreements to be signed as well as with the fine details. She is wanting to ride 2-3 days a week, which is what I was wanting. I would also like for her to do 2-3 lessons a month with a trainer at the barn so I can be sure he is getting the correct work. Hunter is best for flat work or trails with some jumping. Bombproof as he can get and a great horse to deal with all around.

Leasing a horse out is not a big thing around here so I have no prices to compare to. What do you guys think would be a fair price? I'm pretty sure a half lease is what I'm looking at- she pays to ride but I still cover all general costs.

I have never done this before and need some advice and help! Any suggestions or such would be greatly appreciated. I think this would benefit myself and hunter and the other girl as well in the long run. I'll be busy with school this semester and be won't able to ride or hive hunter as much attention as he needs and this girl has been looking around for a horse to lease for s long time now

·
Registered
632 Posts
I would say look at your monthly expenses and then cut that in half as your starting point (as she'd be riding about half the time). If you're wanting her to take lessons with a trainer at the barn, you might want to go a little lower on your fee, as she'll have to shell out the lesson cost as well.

·
Registered
92 Posts
It sounds like a 1/2 lease to me. Typically in that situation the leaser would pay half of all expenses - board, shoes, shots. Except for medical, unless it was an incident that involved the lease.
I would make sure to have in the contract that she needs to give you 30 days notice if she decided to stop leasing.