The Horse Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

I've been riding (consistently) for about two years now, and I do lessons usually on treks every weekend. I ride English.

The problem is, I'm only about 5'2", and I usually ride the same 2-3 horses, between 15hh and 15.3hh in height. Mounting at the yard with a block is fine, but if for any reason I have to get on from the ground (such as after falling off) then I really struggle. I was always taught the method of putting a foot in the stirrup, grabbing the mane/reins and saddle, and pushing myself up and onto the horse's back. However, due to my build, for me to even reach a stirrup usually involves massively lengthening it, and kind of just leaves me at an awkward angle where I can't jump up properly, and if I try, the saddle ends up slipping and pulling, which must be very uncomfortable for the horse too (especially since my usual horse is in his early 20's).

When I watch videos and tutorials on mounting, it always looks so easy, even when a tall horse is used. I found out about "vaulting", and I'm wondering what people think about it, if it would work better for short riders? The most common method I saw involved holding the horse's mane, running and leaping, and then swinging your leg over their side (these descriptions might be a bit off, lol). I don't have to worry about mounting from the ground very often, (especially with my school closed right now) but when I find myself needing to, it's super annoying and embarrassing having to struggle, or have someone help me do something that's seemingly so basic.

If anyone knows anything about vaulting and what I need to know, or if there's a better method, please share your ideas!

Thanks!

·
Registered
768 Posts