The Horse Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Quote by Mustang Maddy:

I’m not here to mold a horse like clay.⁣

But... I’m a horse trainer. I specialize in behavior modification, and I’m teaching the horse to alter her behaviors so she’s safe, healthy and having fun in the human world
🌎

And yet, my statement still stands.⁣

It’s not my intention to take a horse, and turn her into whatever I want her to be.⁣

This is one reason I haven’t settled on a specific discipline like many trainers do. My heart is with mustangs, rehabilitation cases, and exotic animals
🦓
🐎
🐪
all of whom have skill sets, temperaments, and wisdom that vary extensively
💫

And I don’t try to force them all into a box of my own choosing
📦

Instead of molding them like clay...⁣

I want to see them as a beautiful stone — my only goal being to chip away at what doesn’t serve their highest purpose
✨

I help them shed any fear, distrust, anxiety, dissociation...⁣

To reveal their fullest selves
🦋

I allow their beauty, true essence and wisdom to lead the way in what we do together
🪶

Like Michelangelo once said: ⁣

“Every block of stone has a statue inside it and it is the task of the sculptor to discover it.⁣
I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.”⁣

As trainers & horse people
〰️
we are sculptors
〰️
our only job to reveal the beauty that lies within every horse we know, and helping them to release what doesn’t serve them... to set them free
🦅

Reactions: newtrailriders

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
This lady is a real inspiration to me. I just cannot NOT share.

Mustang Maddy says:

The unexpected pain of embracing compassionate training methods
😣

One of my students described feeling both relief and grief when her eyes were opened to her horse’s stress signals.⁣

The traditional way we’ve been taught to train & care for horses causes a lot of stress.⁣