The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a sophomore in high school but of course I am already looking into my future. I currently show AQHA in mainly hunter under saddle and equitation with my current horse but with my old horse I did western pleasure and horsemanship as well. I also plan on doing horsemanship and showmanship this year with my new horse.

I am hoping to get an NCEA scholarship for horsemanship. I have no major awards right now, and 2014 was my first time showing at a national level (Congress) and I will be showing at the Youth World Show this year and also Congress.

I have done my research on these scholarships and the type of people who get them. I understand these colleges want excellent riders that can handle a lot of different types of horses, but I cant help but notice something.

Looking at the college team rosters, the majority of the horsemanship girls have amazing show records. Top 10s and 5s at Congress and worlds, all-around awards, high point awards, multiple superiors, Congress champion/reserve, and even the occasional World champion/reserve or top 5s/top 10.

Before you are under the impression that I think they pick girls based on how well they place with their $100,000 horses at shows, I am not. I just tend to see a pattern that these riders have great accomplishments.

I bought this new horse to be more competitive at a higher level.

I am still a novice, but I was just wondering if there are any specific steps/goals I should take to get me noticed by colleges.

I know about sending in videos and proving my skill but it seems to me the best way to get noticed and recruited by colleges is to build up your show record.

I have the rest of 2015, 2016, and part of 2017 to try and get noticed to get a scholarship.