The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Hi,

I started riding english- hunter/jumper last november meaning to learn to jump. I took 12 years off from riding and wanted to try something new. All my past experiance in riding was western where I learned to barrel, pole bend, and rope since I was 10. (this means leaning forward hold on to rein one handed and the horn or rope in the other)

I now have started riding and jump over x's. my issue that is making my growth slow is cantering.

I need some advice. every time i transition to a canter my body leans forward and my legs go forwards. since I don't canter often, in my once a week lesson, I need a mental and physical help. my teacher says i should use my western seat and lean back and sit. which i have figured out.

my issue is when i start to lean back it feels unnatural and i feel off balance. so when we practice cantering into a jump i get nervous about sharp turns, not being in the right position in time to jump or I wont be able to avoid obstacles at this speed.

as you can tell I over think and i have gotten better but not my positioning. can you suggest something I can work on so my lesson ends on a better note?

·
Registered
23,909 Posts
But you should lean forward when you jump, don't you? :D

What about the trot? Does it feel balanced? The reason I ask if your legs go forward I wonder if the saddle is balanced and/or fit you. I had similar problems with not fitting me saddle (but my legs were pushed forward on trot as well).

All I'd suggest is try to relax as much as you can in your hips and upper body before doing a transition into the canter, and then try to move with the horse.

·
Registered
7,135 Posts
You can lean forward going over a jump, if you like, but if your horse stops suddenly you'll fly over the jump without him.
I suggest two things: