The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Super Moderator
14,747 Posts
Welcome to the Forum...

I can't offer the depth of advice and help you need but can tell you there are many here who can and will share their knowledge with you...
When you have questions ask, but ask on your own threads so they are not lost or sidetracking to other members concerns they write about...that is what I was told/asked to do when I joined this forum so passing along that advice given to me...
The "training" stuff...watch for comments to come soon.

You'll like it here when the members get a chance to work with you, learn what your experiences are...:smile:

·
Super Moderator
26,877 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

I'm no expert but when I halter broke mine I put him int he round pen with a nylon halter and a long thick lead rope and just left him (supervised) for a few hours a day for about a week. He walked around dragging that lead rope and stepping on it. He learned give and release by himself. I did make sure the rope was thick enough that it wouldn't wrap around his legs and get tangled or cause a rope burn and like I Said - I did monitor her while he was in the pen. I would just put him there while I was cleaning stalls or doing yard work. When I started hadn't walking him, he already knew not to pull away from the pressure but to move toward it. It was pretty easy....

·
Premium Member
23,918 Posts
Ah, the new thread!

I strongly advise you to find a trainer to work with, or at very least, an experienced friend to give you lessons, because while we can give you lots of bits & pieces here, if you're a newbie to horses AND you don't know(assuming from what you asked) you are also not knowledgeable about training AND you have baby horses, that's a HUGE learning curve & heaps to go wrong if you just 'go it alone'.