The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello horse world ! Lol this is so exciting, anywho, to get to the point, I was curious on what some serious barrel racers thoughts were on treeless saddles.

Most of my barrel friends like the old fashion sturdy tree saddles, circle y's and stuff.

HOWEVER, I love my horse too much and all this yip yap on how wonderful a treeless saddle could be on your horses back has got me thinking that my boy needs a treeless.

I would jump right on it it, but I also want to run him in barrels (small time, im no pro).

Question is (or questions*): Are there any good brands that wont put a hole in my pocket? Will a treeless saddle still give me the support I need coming onto and off of barrels? Do they hold up well? Any other info would be greatly appreciated !

THANK YOU EVERYONE :grin:

·
Registered
13,661 Posts

From people I have known and talked to, treeless is a saddle you either love or hate, the good ones are very expensive.

But per reviews on horse tack and dozens of other people, the one brand to stay away from is Hilason

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank god you said that ! Halison was what ive been looking at . I'm definitely not into expensive. but i would like to get a treeless, if there is a good brand that makes barrel saddles. im just wondering if a treeless saddle is any good for barrel racing. I dont want it to fall apart on me.

·
Registered
13,661 Posts

Bob Marshal is the only brand I can remeber anyone ever talking about using in barrel racing, other general recommended brands I have been told are good are Freeform and Barefoot.
I understand a special pad is also needed.

I have never seen one in person, but looking at the pics I wonder myself how the hold up long term in Barrel Racing.

·
Registered
17,293 Posts