The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Horse community.
My name is Jordan, I am a 29 year old new horse owner. I began riding horses around 5 months ago, and prior to that, my horse experience was near zero.

A couple of weeks ago, I purchased a 5 year old QH Gelding named Rusty. I have been riding him for the past 4 months about twice a week. I am with him almost every day for a couple hours. I keep him at a barn with 45+ other horses.

I am getting a little discouraged as his ground manners are not where they should be. He struggles with:
- Nibbling/biting when hand gets close to his face (not all the time, about half the time). I do not hand feed him, prior to me owning him, people would give him treats, I cut that off.
- attention is everywhere else but on me. He becomes distracted easily and does not really pay attention to me.
- When walking he will occasionally try to walk in front of me, walk past me etc. I have been working with him on this and he is getting better slowly, It is like 3 steps forward, then he will regress one step back. When I try to back him up I will grab under the halter knot and push him back and he will try to bite my hand.

The biggest 'Ugh' thing that was been happening is bridling him. He has always been tough to bridle. He will throw his head up and walk backwards and just try and move. In the past I have been able to get it in half the time the other times, I would have my instructor help.

That being said, I have been leaving his rope halter on while bridling him, and it been easier because at least I can keep him in one place. He still tries to throw his head a little bit, especially if I haven't warmed him up in the round pen yet.