The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my first horse, she's an 11 year old arabian mare and I'm a little lost. Its my first time actually owning..and I'm afraid I dont know what to do! She's boarded at a private barn with three other horses and hasn't been ridden for years since her previous owner was bucked off and broke some ribs. I don't think its smart to just hop on her, but what do I know?

Any tips on dealing with new horses? Any ideas on what I should do?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Get a trainer or attend some training and start with ground work....
Luckily my friend at the stable down the block the head trainer. I'll definitely be calling him in, but in the mean time, i really just want to build a bond with her..anything to keep me busy. :)

·
Registered
644 Posts
Put her in a round yard or small arena and try join-up with her. It's a great way for you to start your relationship with her as her leader. If it's done correctly, in theory, you shouldn't have problems with her trying to be dominant over you. I say "in theory" because some horses will try test you everytime they see you, and others may just need a reminder join-up session every once in a while.
How to Join Up With a Horse - wikiHow

Spend time with her on the ground, grooming her or just hanging out with her in her stall or paddock. Sit somewhere safe and let her come and investigate you.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Put her in a round yard or small arena and try join-up with her. It's a great way for you to start your relationship with her as her leader. If it's done correctly, in theory, you shouldn't have problems with her trying to be dominant over you. I say "in theory" because some horses will try test you everytime they see you, and others may just need a reminder join-up session every once in a while.
How to Join Up With a Horse - wikiHow