The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to boarding. I've only ever had my horses on my own property or on my grandparent's farm when I lived elsewhere. And several horses that I was competing on would stay at my hauling partners ranch for convenience as they had the big indoor arena, etc. etc. Anyway, after a break I've gotten some horses again. We started with just my 4 year old quarter horse mare, and recently we added an 8 year old TWH mare from a rescue. The BO came out right after the TWH mare had been delivered and right after she had cut her pastern on metal that he has lined the back of the mare motel area with. We notified him that she had cut her leg and indicated that we would like to remove that metal. He refused, which is fine, because it's his barn. Then he proceeded to inform us of what a mistake we had made in obtaining this mare because she came from a rescue. (She was relinquished to the rescue as the previous owners were frightened of her after they fell off - completely other story!) The mare is registered so we have age verification and actually sweet as pie, incredibly well mannered both on the ground and under saddle. When I looked up her registered name it seems as though she has done some competitive trail, and I got to see some videos of her doing really good things (like walking on a see-saw, and going through weird tarps and stuff). Anyway, my boyfriend really had fallen in love with this horse, and it's the first horse he has ever owned although he has ridden and worked at a boarding facility during high school.