The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm in the UK and really struggling to find a horse to buy.

I'm a size 22 and about 18 stone.

I had horses as a child then didn't ride for about 20 years so I'm not a beginner but not a pro.

Can anyone help with what breeds I should be looking for please?

·
Registered
761 Posts
You definitely need a percheron! One of my mares is a percheron and she has the BEST disposition. They can carry a lot and are well known for their positive attitude! (Perfect if you like grays too) :)
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
1,139 Posts
Breed doesn't matter as much as build. I'm about the same weight as you, and I ride a solid Quarter Horse. I feel perfectly comfortable on him, and he is comfortable with me. His back is a bit longer than desired, but we haven't had any problems. Here's a photo (he's 16.1hh btw) -

The horse you're looking for should have short, thick cannon bones, and a short back. Good legs are basically a must. Also, don't go thinking that draft horses are your best option - they aren't built to carry weight, they're built to pull them. The same goes for tall horses - gravity works against you!

·
Registered
761 Posts
I agree tracer the best horse should be stocky but not too tall...honestly when I think of percheron I don't automatically think of big tall work horses....I think of 15 hand crosses...lol that's what I really meant by a percheron
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
100 Posts
Find something sturdy. You should be able to know sturdy when you see it.
Shortish. Thick. Well muscled. That is your best bet.

That's not necessarily a draft or even a draft cross, but that may be a good route to start, particularly with a cross.

·
Registered
205 Posts