The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I thought I would introduce myself! My name is Amelia and my family and I just purchased some beautiful horses which will be home this weekend :) I would love to connect with other horse people to chat with and ask advice being as I'm fairly new to the whole thing!

Thanks for taking the time to read!

·
Registered
5,800 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Amelia! Horses are such a wonderful addition to one's life, aren't they? I'm sure all of us can relate. :) I have to ask, though, as you mention that you are "fairly new" to horse ownership - is there anyone in your family with lots of horsemanship experience? You will want to have all the experience you can get before keeping a horse in a boarding facility, let alone several horses on your own property!

·
Registered
531 Posts
Hello welcome to the forum! we are here to help, don't be afraid to ask.

"Saranda" ask a great question what kind of help do you have at hand? I'll ask a question of my own too.
What is your plan for these horses?
What are your goals?
What are your expectations for how they should behave?
Answering these questions is some of the best advice I can give to people that are new to horses.
Along with take some time to learn and understand how horses communicate with each other.
Good luck with you new heard members! :)

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sandra, my mom and dad both had horses through out their whole childhood :) and my Uncle has worked at the race track for 20+ years as a pee tester of all things haha it's just my first as we just finally got settled on a farm! :)

The yearling we fully intend to break to ride, nothing fancy just for pleasure!