The Horse Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, this is my first time making a post here, so please bear with me!
I recently bought a horse (around 2 months ago), but when I got him he was in an extremely bad condition. Completely malnourished for a horse his size (he is over 185 cm in the withers), with cuts and bruises everywhere. I advised with my trainer and asked him if I should add any types of supplements into his feed, and he said no. I still bought him some supplements because I couldn't stand to
look at him in that state. I am currently giving him Red Mills Conditioning Mix, together with TRM’s Hoofmaker Concentrated Pellets and Stride HA (my trainer is against using Stride HA because it will “wake the horse up” and boost his performance way too much), and a mix of apples and carrots once a day. Of course he gets hay and fresh green grass everyday. His cuts and bruises mostly healed but I am worried about his weight gain. He has a very defined wither and hips, you can see and almost all of his ribs etc. I don’t want to overdo it and cause unwanted effects but I am really worried if he is on the right track.

Attachments

·
Registered
7,135 Posts
Nice looking horse. I would suggest more forage type feeds. Alfalfa pellets. I would not be using any supplement that is made for a horse that is in high performance riding . You need good quality forage (hays grasses) and fats to gain weight. You can add oil (vegetable, canola, corn, olive) over the pellets. You can buy senior feeds that have a higher fat content. You can get products for weight gain with high fat contents. Main thing should be hay. Lots of hay.

·
Registered
7,065 Posts
Does he get unlimited hay, or are you only giving him a certain amount each day? Also what kind of hay is it? I also would not feed the performance feed at this point.

·
Registered
51,302 Posts