The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Super Moderator
27,179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For the past 2 evenings, I have had the cutest little opossum in my barn. That being said, it's a opossum. I think it's going after the cat food and not the horse feed, I'm not sure it can get into my grain tubs, but, it's still a opossum. SO... My question is...

I called my brother and he is coming over tomorrow to try and trap it. he's going to look for it in the AM but I don't think it comes into the barn until the evening so he'll have to come back around dark time. If he takes it away, how far does he need to go with it to ensure that it doesn't come back? Can he turn it loose in my moms barn? (she only has feral cats - no livestock in her barn). She's about 2400 feet from my place... I geuss? I'm not good with distance, she's up on the hill, about a 10 minute walk through the woods. Would the opposum come back? I hate to kill it. That just isn't my style. I'll drive it across the county if I need to....

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
Kill it. Once it has found a home then it will come back, no matter what. Trust me, kill it. Have you ever seen a horse that has EPM? It is noting you would ever want to see, it's so horrible. If you truly loved your horses you would kill it.

Studies have proven that generally when you relocate a wild animal it dies. Because of stress, lack of food, and disease transmission.

·
Registered
1,910 Posts
A friend of mine had a stallion that died from EPM about 9 yrs ago. It was horrible.

·
Registered
755 Posts
I think we're all aware that opossums and horses don't mix. That being said, I truly don't believe you HAVE to kill it. My BO traps and moves opossums and they seem to stay away. But it all depends on how far away you take them from your barn...

·
Registered
5,455 Posts