The Horse Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, wondering if I could get some opinions/advice on the current situation with my horse.

I have a 14.3hh 13 yr old QH mare (had her since 2013) who was diagnosed with navicular disease in 2015. We started her on Osphos and she's been on it ever since. I went away to college in 2015 and I've been away from home since then (currently pursuing a master's degree). I'm planning on moving back home within the next month and finishing my degree, SUPER excited about it because I'm so ready to be back with my girl. I've been riding off and on for about 20 years, always been a horse lover. (Something my family does NOT share).

Prior to my moving away, she was in good shape, rode on a regular basis in an arena/out in pasture. In the 5 years I've been gone she's been free grazing on approximately 10 acres and has become extremely fat. I haven't been able to give her the care she needs and deserves due to being gone (I couldn't afford to have her with me). But I also wasn't able to find anyone that could/would lease her/buy her etc. because of the navicular. I didn't want to sell because I hoped that I'd be able to pick up riding again and also- I'm obviously incredibly attached to her.

Anyways. My current plan with her is to start using a grazing muzzle when she's out grazing, and penning her up at night in a small dry lot with a hay net. I don't currently own a saddle, and since she's so fat I was considering buying a bareback pad for the time being to begin legging her up. I will obviously be monitoring her feet/watching her for lameness and will start her off slow. I've ridden her off and on for the last several years but nothing consistent. My vet came out the other day to vaccinate her/float her teeth, but I haven't actually been able to speak to him yet- I plan on calling when I get back.