The Horse Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to these message boards and am hoping to get some advice/hear of others' experiences.

I have been taking private riding lessons for about 4 years. I take lessons/ride on average 3x a week. When I first began lessons I was overweight (by BMI standards) and (sad to say), now am obese. On Thursday of last week at my lesson the (school) horse I was riding spooked. This was at the very end of my lesson, when we had already made a nice downward transition from canter to walk. He bolted and bobbled me a bit - had he took off with me, I would have been fine with this, as I could have regained my balance eventually - but shortly after coming out of the turn, slammed on the brakes. This resulted in me falling overboard, so to speak. To show for this, I have a fractured collarbone, as well as a couple of fractured or bruised ribs.

I am bummed for a couple of reasons: obviously, bc I fell and hurt myself and now I'm looking at a 3 month hiatus from riding (and possible surgery); and also, the thought that the severity of my injury may have been prevented by being at an ideal body weight. I can't help but think that my balance could have been better if I were in a "normal" weight range; thereby either keeping me on the horse or reducing the impact of my fall.

I am determined to use this pause in my riding to get down to a lower weight for my own (and whatever horse I end up riding's) safety; I do know that accidents/these things happen, but it couldn't hurt to try to make things as safe as possible for all parties involved.