Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks!

I'm sure this question has been done to death, but I need your input.
Bit of background, I have no experience with ponies. I grew up riding full size horses so I have no frame of reference to fall back on.

The woman I'm shareboarding from just bought a pony for her kids. He's an ex-eventer, great with kids, and of course...ridiculously cute =)
He's been off work for about 6 months, though, so she asked if I would get on him and take him out on trail, just to make sure he's tuned up. She said it would be fine, but I'm a little worried that I'm too big for him. He looks to be about 13 hands; I'm not sure on his weight, but he looks healthy (not too fat, not too skinny). He's middle aged, clean legs, and a reasonably stocky build. I'm 130 pounds and have good balance (solid intermediate rider if I had to classify myself).
I'm just nervous, because I have no experience with ponies, that I might hurt his back. We wouldn't be doing anything too strenuous. The trials are pretty flat. Thoughts?

thanks in advance

PS His name is Lunchbox....is that not the cutest name for a pony?!?!

·
Registered
6,176 Posts
I think it would be easier to provide input if you could post a picture of the pony, with her permission of course. If the pony is long legged and lightly built it might not be a good idea, but a "regular" pony or a stocky one would probably be OK. There are many variables.

Other options would be to do a lot of groundwork with the pony, including lunge work and have the children ride the pony on the lunge initially until everyone is more aware of training, behaviors, abilities...

·
Registered
5,603 Posts
Pictures would definitely help.

I weigh 120ish and ride my 12.3hh fjord, but she has the "stocky fjord build" going for her and can definitely hold me.

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·