The Horse Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding at a stable where I am a working student.
My instructor is free leasing a gelding that is for sale, and she is trying to sell him for his owners.

He is 10 year old, 16-16.2hh (I forget!) TB gelding, never raced.
His personality is just awesome and he loves people, but he is a bit head shy. He also has some sort of skin infection/disease that causes him to be really really itchy in his back legs... he almost falls over when you scratch him there. So, that would need to be cleared up.
When I rode him, he was such a good boy. Pretty strong though, as he hasn't been ridden in a couple years. He has 2nd level dressage training, but needs a refresher.
He's the perfect size for me and so perfect... but the only thing that I can't convince myself to get over is his extremely bouncy trot. He has the world's most bounciest trot in my opinion... haha.
He is a real workout to ride (which is good in some ways!), but I love riding bareback :[
I haven't chosen a specific discipline that I like.. I mainly like pleasure riding, and especially bareback/bridless :]

He seems like he'd be an awesome eventing horse, cross country, or trail riding. He loves trail riding, and isn't very spooky at all. He is pretty confident on the trails too, which I like.

Anyways... I watched a video of me on him, and I like the way we look together, and I love his personality.
But.. I was leaning towards a smooth gaited quarter horse.. not a bouncy thoroughbred :/
Should a bouncy trot really deter me away from a horse? Maybe with tons of practice I could possibly manage a sitting trot.. and then bareback? *hopeful*
What do you think? :]

·
Registered
492 Posts