The Horse Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey People well i have an 11.2hh gelding who is a bit of a problem,i bet Buffy when my aunty bought him unseen from a friend and got him transported to my paddocks until she could get another truck to take him to hers. I did a little work with him and soon realised he was no where near suitable for her young children to ride or handle! So she agreed to let him stay with me for a while so i could school him. Then she decided to sell him and had someone interested but i had fallen in love with him and couldn't bear to see him go so i bought him myself.
He has a bad bucking problem and i got the chiropractor too him who diagnosed him with wither syndrome(google it). After a few visits she said he was safe to ride again and he was much much better. But he still bucked! So we had his saddle checked and it didn't fit so i started riding him in a pony pad(sheepskin). He was much happier and although he still bucked it wasn't so bad. Eventualy i had his teeth done(I thought they were sore so ha been riding him in a hackamore)and he had a wolf tooth removed. Now i can use a bit and he doesn't mind!! I got him a french link hanging snaffle which he goes well in. Soon after he slipped over while being lunged. He was fine no obvious injury so i continued riding him. Then he began rearing BIG,mostly vertical. He was also very nappy and bolted once. I became scared to ride him. Lately i noticed he has a knot in the muscle in his neck so i think he has put something out. Another call to the chiropractor who is coming next week. He is now out of work. Just wanting some ideas of what to do if he continues rearing when i bring him back into work?

·
Registered
2,681 Posts
Check that his bit fits nicely, and that it doesnt pinch, maybe that is what caused the rears. AHe could also be being naughty

·
Registered
2,061 Posts