The Horse Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys! My mustang has rain rot (ugh) and its my first time dealing with it as a horse owner. I'm headed to Tractor Supply and possibly my local tack store if needed. I'm going to get an iodine based shampoo, and was wondering of anyone had any product recommendations for getting rid of this nasty stuff. I have a trial size bottle of MTG, does anyone know how it works for rain rot? It's only a mild case, and the skin under the scurfy sections is gray and dry, not raw at all. He has some spots where hair is already growing back.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks!

Just thought of another question: I keep finding conflicting information on wether or not it's passed to horse from horse by sharing brushes, ect. Should I disinfect brushes, blankets, ect to be safe or is it unneccesary?
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
14,146 Posts
Thanks!

Just thought of another question: I keep finding conflicting information on wether or not it's passed to horse from horse by sharing brushes, ect. Should I disinfect brushes, blankets, ect to be safe or is it unneccesary?
Posted via Mobile Device
I wash my brushes in the MicroTek Shampoo and let them soak overnight after I'm done washing and grooming the horse. It's fungal in origin so I'd say that it could be spread from horse to horse. I also feed Vit A supplement to keep skin healthy and prevent recurrence.

·
Registered
6,303 Posts
^^^ actually a bacteria, not a fungus, but the info all still applies.
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I ended up getting Viodine medicated shampoo, and it treats bacterial and fungal skin conditions, so either way, I'm good. :) I think I'm gonna stick to using MTG, as the Microtek shampoo was almost $35 dollars :-O
Posted via Mobile Device

·
Registered
4,766 Posts