The Horse Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Banned
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have heard that many people, including some one this forum, do not like Purina and/or Nutrena. If you do not like Purnia and/or Nutrena, why? Is it the company, the actual horse feed, or the customer service or...? I have never used them before but I thinking about it, but now I am not sure. :s

I know that everyone has their own preference and that no company can please everyone, but it seems like Purina and Nutrena are commonly brought up as "be wary" brands.

·
Super Moderator
14,754 Posts
Oh...heres come a book...a novel.
Get a drink and comfy chair to sit in...

Like anything else this boils down to personal experience, not investigating fully what is happening today in the feed world and also much is based on your personal horses needs and how they react to the recipe of the feed made.

Today the Purina Mills division that does equine feed is who is the mill for Nutrena, Southern States aka Triple Crown feeds, Dumor, all of the Purina line, and several other feeds but smaller labels.
Purina, Nutrena and a host of other companies are all owned by parent company Cargill...read up on them to see what else this huge conglomerate owns. Nestle is another company they own most recognize...

Purina by me has dedicated plant/mill or a dedicated feed line where nothing other than equine feed is manufactured.
All of the companies use Purina ingredients but their own recipe.
So when some call certain ingredients junk and garbage I just smile cause their feed is made from the same ingredients out of the hopper of 100 ton capacity to start the recipe of such and such a brand...
Today the differences are in the recipes...not ingredients.

I never keep it straight honestly but one recipe type is guaranteed ingredients, the other is guaranteed analysis and percentages = every ingredient combined to make your feed fed a consistent bag to bag protein, fat, fiber..