The Horse Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am in Ohio, and new to this forum, but I have been lurking for about 2 months. At 54, I started riding again only in the past couple of years. I take lessons when I can, and ride Walking Horses. (Lessons were on quarter horses, then I started on our TWH gelding, but due to Covid everything got messed up.) I'm a very timid rider.
I usually ride an older gelding, who is as close to bomb proof as they get. He is a wonderful horse, and he knows when I am nervous and just ignores it.
OK. So here's my question - we have a 2 year old in training that I am hoping to ride. (I do ride her at the trainer's barn). I worked with her from when she was weaned until we sent her for training. She is awesome. Like any horse she can be stubborn, and playful, but she generally really calm and sweet natured. She isn't afraid of anything; she likes new stuff.
She is not being trained as a show horse - in my limited experience, they tend to be a little fast, and they need a lot of bit. I am not a good enough rider to handle a show horse.
She's here in Ohio with a really good trainer who is trail riding her and just getting her used to a novice like me.
Am I nuts to think this could be my horse? I really love her. According to the trainer, she has never bucked, and she spooks in place when she does - which is rare. (I really worked with her on obstacles before she ever went to the trainer.) I have read so many posts here that warn people about me like about a young horse. I ride with a helmet and a vest (since I fell the last time). I want this to work.