Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm looking for a Quarter Horse to purchase, and I am going this weekend to look at a few potential matches, so I am compiling a list of questions to ask about the horse. This is my first horse, and first time horse shopping, and I want to be as thorough as possible.

If I like what I see/ride, I am planning on taking my instructor with me on a second trip, as well as get a vet check, before I agree to buy.

Here is a little information about myself that might help:

I am a novice rider, looking for a well broke horse QH that I can use for pleasure trail riding and also for practicing trail (competition) with the possibility of showing western pleasure with my instructor.

The horses are being described as very broke, confidence builders for beginners that have great handle, neck rein, move off the leg, and back up. Both are geldings.

Very short descriptions, I know. I suppose it doesn't matter much until I ride, as the seller can promise the world in an ad. :wink:

The horse doesn't have to be competition ready, as long as the basics are there. I am hoping the horse and I can hone our show skills together :)

Any shopping tips and advice is appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
77 Posts