The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased a mare having been exposed to a stallion. The colt was born on Friday, is healthy and doing well. I have no extensive experience with foals and I want to be sure that I am doing everything the best I can to raise a well adjusted, respectful horse (to weanling age). He has already had a halter put on him a few times, patted around, then pulled back off. He's been blanketed, as he chose to be born in the worst of our winter weather so far. I tried googling "raising foal" and "foal care" but most search results are health based, rather than training and handling. So everybody that breeds, handles foals, or knows good online sources, please throw them my way. :mrgreen:

Also, he is a Shire, born with a winter coat. He's been inside for the ice to melt, as I don't want him to be injured by slipping on unsteady legs. But aside from ice, would be be alright staying out in the pasture so long as weather is dry and low winds? Or would he be more susceptible to the cold?

·
Registered
6,303 Posts
There is a good article "Halter Breaking Your Foal" that you can download from here Halter Breaking Your Foal – America’s Horse Daily
The most important thing within the first 3 months is to do everything you need to be able to "doctor" the foal if you need to. Handle/rub/touch all over, halter break, lead on a rope, and tie (attended). Handle the legs, but don't expect him to be steady enough to keep a foot up more than a few seconds (e.g. like you would pick out) until closer to 3 months.
They are more susceptible to chilling in the cold/wet/wind until they get a little fat/weight on them, but if it's not cold and raining, I would let him out with mom.
Good luck and enjoy.

·
Registered
307 Posts