The Horse Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7,865 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been battling scratches on Harley's legs for about three years now. Seriously, nothing seems to make them go away. He has huge raw patches, summer, winter, doesn't matter. It's not even seasonal anymore. Until just recently.

I am using a different vet who is actually an equine vet (local vets are livestock vets). He comes from out of town and is a lot more $$$ but he cured Harley's chronic diarrhea last spring, and always seems to have new ideas that work. So I had him out to look at Harley and he suggested treating with raw honey and putting him on Omega Alpha's Immune Plus which is a natural herbal supplement. I only had to apply the honey for about 6 days - I would slather it on, cover with a large gauze pad, sometimes two, and use vet wrap to keep everything in place. I would wash his legs, allow them to dry, and change it daily. We have tried everything we could before, from sprays to washes to creams to home remedies without any luck. But WOW, did this ever work!

Here is his leg on August 27th and the same leg today, September 12th, so about two weeks later.

Attachments

·
Registered
299 Posts
That looks like like what our paint would get in the early summer. Caught him scratching on trees until he’d be almost bleedIng. Maybe we’ll try that next time.

·
Registered
9,589 Posts
We actually have four beehives on the property so this is our own pure, straight from the hive honey.
I was always told that’s the trick to using honey for anything - it HAS to be local honey. Can’t get much more local than your own farm:cool:

Your new vet sounds to be worth “every stinkin’ rotten penny”, which is my favorite phrase when I get way more than value received for a service or from a product:)

·
Registered
954 Posts