The Horse Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there! I am new to Horse Forum and hoping for some insight on replacing the previous Belvin's Buckles on my saddle. This saddle is a Herford Texas Tan (I can't make out the rest of the words, maybe another word starting with a KEN? - it is 40+ years old I believe, as it was given to me by a lovely friend who stopped riding). I have had a look around online for a replacement of the Belvin's Buckles which are a little worse for wear and I have not been able to find anything that looks exactly like them. My questions are:
  • Are these Belvin's Buckles and is there a more specific name/type for what I have?
  • Would 'regular' Belvin's Buckles bought at a tack shop work just as well?
I would appreciate any other insight or suggestions as I am still learning the intricacies of tack!
Thank you in advance :)

·
Registered
7,324 Posts
Those aren't Blevins buckles but I can't remember what they are called. I have seen those replacement slides but they were poorly made. The ones you currently have would be better.
I don't think buying replacement Blevins slides will work as the slides you have, have the prongs, "male end". But you'll have to remind me by posting a picture of the end riveted to the end of your stirrup leather.

If you have someone near you who does saddle work I'd have them rivet new Blevins on.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Those aren't Blevins buckles but I can't remember what they are called. I have seen those replacement slides but they were poorly made. The ones you currently have would be better.
I don't think buying replacement Blevins slides will work as the slides you have, have the prongs, "male end". But you'll have to remind me by posting a picture of the end riveted to the end of your stirrup leather.

If you have someone near you who does saddle work I'd have them rivet new Blevins on.